Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 19th, 2009

When I watch this video I am reminded that this is exactly how God loves us — the way a father loves a child.

Read Full Post »

Shelby. bus

Shelby and I took a quick tour around Fairhaven, a historic area above the bay, just south of Bellingham. It was a beautiful day, a nice drive up.

Law.

One of the gals that Shelby works with now used to work here.

Courtyard (2)

Murals grace many of the village’s buildings.

Courtyard

The bookstore overlooks this courtyard where we saw children playing Red Rover.

Bookmobile

We even found the bookmobile. As a child, I loved when the bookmobile came by the trailer park. It was always a place to cool down (thanks to the van’s AC) and to take in the sweet smell of books. (Try replicating that, Kindle.)

Dress.1

Shelby found a beautiful dress that I would have bought for her but she said it was like wearing a corset — she could only take short breaths.

Dress

But, gosh, she looked just like an 1940s movie star in it.

Bookstore2

As you enter Village Bookstore, there are these wonderful quotes right by the doors.

Bookstore

Event2

Lots of folks turned out and they asked some really challenging questions. I wish I could have taken them all out for coffee afterwards.

Carol F.

But instead I followed Carol out to Bayview Cemetery where I visited the gravesite of Agnes Ferngren. Where’s Your Jesus Now? is dedicated in part to Agnes, the woman who taught me the skill of nurturing and homemaking.

Agnes (2)

When I first attended Oregon State University, I lived with Agnes and her three daughters. Gary, an OSU prof still, was on teaching ship for the term. Shelby and I are going to visit one of those girls today. Anne-Marie is now grown and the mother of six children herself. The last a set of twin girls.

Sunset.

As we drove away, Shelby snapped this shot of the sun setting.

There is so much more to tell you about last night but I made a promise to not share the story until the other party involved is ready for me to share it. But as I stood at the foot of Agnes’s grave I wept over the way in the incredible, intricate ways in which God redeems our lives. Ways that do not diminsh the grace of the Cross but reiterates it.

Thanks to David at Village Books and to all of you who came out, especially to those of you who came long distances, physically and emotionally, to be part of the Village event.

Read Full Post »