Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 16th, 2009

Hank

Hank is sitting at my feet as I type this. Last night he brought me his favorite chew toy and wanted to play catch, or fetch, or whatever you call it. If Hank were a person he would be a female. He would be Farrah Fawcett when she was a Charlie’s Angel starlet. Hank has the best smile and a lush coat of peroxide blonde hair, natural curls, of course. Hank likes to jump up in my lap. Hank’s a big dog so having him jump in your lap is a bit like having Peyton Manning taking a running leap for your lap. (Actually not a bad visual if you think on it for a minute or more.) Hank, an English Golden Retriever, doesn’t bark much. He’s not demanding in the least. He’s just on the lookout for a new playmate. I threw his chew toy to him from the top deck last night. It hit the table below. Don’t worry, nothing was hurt. Hank ran to retrieve his toy but he couldn’t reach it so he barked until I did the fetching. I didn’t mind. It was nice on the porch last night. Patti & I sat out there watching the fireflies and smelling the jasmine and honeysuckle. Patti’s home backs up to the Chattahoochee. We went for  a walk along the trails this morning. The air was heavy with perfume. Although we were both southern raise neither Patti nor I know whether the white flowering bushes are jasmine or honeysuckle before it blooms. I voted jasmine. Patti voted honeysuckle. Either way I can tell you it smelled soooo good I just wanted to curl up underneath that bush with that Michael Malone book I’m trying to finish and stay there for a long while. But instead I trod back to the house and went about the chore of getting ready for my book event at Fox Tale bookstore in Woodstock. It was a terrific event. A beautiful store. As soon as I figure out how to download the photos I’ll post them for you. I want to move to Woodstock just so I can hang at Fox Tale. 

I think Hank would like that.

Read Full Post »